Macdonald-Kelce Library: Streaming Services and Ebooks: Ebooks

Ebooks Search

You can also browse specific ebook collections with the ebook guide.

Finding Books in the Library

You can also use the search box on the library homepage to start finding books or ebooks.

If you know the title of a book, enter it into the search box, or type in key words to find a book on any subject.

Example: Search for "Florida Ecology"

To find books in the collection, under "Resource Type" on the left filter list, choose "Books." This will come up with a list of both physical books and ebooks. If you need just physical books, choose "Macdonald-Kelce Library Items" under the "Availability" list.

If you want just ebooks, choose "Ebooks" from the top menu next to the search box.

Use other filters found on the left hand side of the page such as dates and subjects to help you narrow down your search.

Finding Ebooks in the Databases

ABC-CLIO EBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers world cultures, world history, global issues, sociology, literature, etc.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of ebooks on various subjects including science, technology, medicine, nursing, life sciences, social sciences, and business. Now includes PACKT, SUNY, University of California and Fordham University Press.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects including science, technology, medicine, life sciences, social sciences, and business.
FORENSICnetBASE / LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic reference books and articles concerning information on forensic analysis, criminal justice, law, law enforcement, counterterrorism, etc.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Comprises a wide variety of ebooks on topics such as the arts, education, law, medicine, and religion.
JSTOR ebooks This link opens in a new window
ebooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and business.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and state-of-the-art surveys of current thinking and research, from leading international figures in the discipline.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Access all Oxford's dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias in one place.
Oxford Reference is a multi-disciplinary database that features a range of short entries, timelines, quotations, and lengthy in-depth reference articles on all topics. Browse by subject or enter a keyword in the search box.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Thousands of books spanning subjects across almost every area of academia, from the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and ebooks covering the humanities and social sciences broadly, and more specifically topical areas such as ...
literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Books and journals from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. Offers Online Teaching & Learning Resources, Teaching & Content Alerts, content for Courses & Research. Also contains The Complete Prose of T.S. Eliot: The Critical Edition gathers for the first time in one place the collected, uncollected, and unpublished prose. The fully searchable, integrative edition includes all of Eliot's collected essays, reviews, lectures, commentaries from The Criterion, and letters to editors, including more than 700 uncollected and 150 unpublished pieces from 1905 to 1965 and much more.

Downloading Ebooks: Software and Devices

Navigation:

Each ebook database allows you to read the full-text ebook within the database interface on most desktop, laptop, and mobile devices. Most ebooks are navigable by a Table of Contents, usually found on the left hand side of the screen. For full functionality (annotating, highlighting, bookmarking etc.), you will need to create a separate account with each database.

Downloading:

Keep in mind that some platforms don't allow you to download the entire ebook file to your computer. Some allow for chapter by chapter downloads or sending a chapter via email.

If you have trouble navigating any ebook platform, please chat with us, email at library@ut.edu, or come visit us in person.

Kindle

Can I use the library's databases on the Kindle?

Not yet. Although the Kindle can read .pdfs if you save them from the database and then upload them to the Kindle.

Getting Free Books: Here are a few places to find free books to read on the Kindle.

(NOTE: Many free works are available as .PDFs. To get a .PDF document on your Kindle, first save the document to your computer. Then, connect your computer and Kindle with the USB cable and save the documents to the Kindle.)

Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/
Amazon: You can find Amazon's top 100 free e-books for the Kindle here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/bestsellers/digital-text/
Google: Here's Google's page for their most popular free e-books: https://play.google.com/store/books/collection/topselling_free
Feedbooks: http://www.feedbooks.com/publicdomain

Free Ebooks

Amazon: You can find Amazon's top 100 free ebooks for the Kindle here
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America - Discover 36,868,852 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
HathiTrust Digital Library: A free collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive: The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 10,000,000 fully accessible books and texts. There is also a collection of 300,000 modern ebooks that may be borrowed or downloaded.
Feedbooks: An offering of thousands of public domain ebooks
Google: Here's Google's page for their most popular free ebooks
Hillsborough County Public Library: The local public library supports checking out ebooks to your desktop, laptop, tablet, phone, or Kindle on multiple platforms. Here's the ebooks page for the HCPLC. Join for free as a Tampa resident and get a library card to access their physical and digital book collection.
Project Gutenberg: Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Web Accessibility Statement

Read the University's web accessibility statement here.

Complete the Macdonald-Kelce Library Survey