Macdonald-Kelce Library: Literature Review: Finding Published Literature Reviews

Search Tips for Locating Literature Reviews

Search for literature reviews in article databases. Use keywords related to your topic and "literature review" in quotations as an additional keyword.

Some databases provide filters to limit a search to literature reviews (log into MyUTampa for access):

ProQuest In "Advanced Search" under "Document Type" select "Literature Review"
PsycArticles and PsycInfo In "Advanced Search" under "Methodology" select "Literature Review"
Science Direct In "Advanced Search" add the phrase "literature review" (in quotes) to your search terms.
PubMed On the results page after having searched for articles under "Article Types" select "Review"

Placing the phrases (in quotations) "literature review," "systematic review," or "meta-analysis" in your initial search can often give you a results list focusing on those types of articles.

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive databases available online. Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Articles date back to 1894.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and theses in the field of psychology going back to 1887.
Includes multi-disciplinary work covering psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text scholarly articles, books and book chapters on scientific, technical, and medical literature.
Topics include chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, energy, engineering, materials sciences, mathematics, physics, and astronomy.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Access to the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database, Medline, containing citations and abstracts to worldwide medical literature dating back to the 1950s.
PubMed does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources such as PubMed Central (PMC), a component of PubMed.

Complete the Macdonald-Kelce Library Survey

Literature Review

Search Tips for Locating Literature Reviews