The University of Tampa Macdonald-Kelce Library

PSC413 - Politics of War

Use this guide to get started researching military operations. This resource will lead you to a combination of official documents, background on operations from official sources, and help you find peer-reviewed articles.

Locating Articles in Summon

Use the the left-hand column of the Summon (library search engine) results page to narrow your search. Search using your keywords, then restrict your search to 'Scholarly & Peer-Review' (for example).

Scan entries for new terms to use in your next search.

Search everything.

Use Summon to search across the entire library catalog (books, DVDs, government documents) and most of the library databases (journal articles, images, newspapers).

Advanced Search

 

Locating Articles in Google Scholar

Another path for locating scholarship is to use Google Scholar.

Google Scholar defines scholarship more broadly than most of your professors, so always double-check to make sure what you're finding is suitable. Google Scholar also includes much material which is not available in the library databases (but is typically available through interlibrary loan).

If you are not on campus, you need to adjust your settings in Google Scholar so it can search the library's databases.

For more information about effective use of Google Scholar, see our handout.

Google Scholar Search

Using Specific Databases Instead of Summon

Remember that most databases search across disciplines. Pay attention to the names of the journals in your search results and chose articles suitable for your discipline.

Start with one of these databases: 

Getting Articles That Are Not in the Library's Collection

I frequently use WorldCat to locate materials not in our library's collection. I find it especially useful for books. If you've never borrowed a book from another library, check out our guide to interlibrary loan (ILL). Or, go straight to the form.

Locating a Journal in the Library's Collection

If you are searching for a specific journal (ex: Journal of Military Learning) use the Journal Search option from the drop-down Search on the ribbon menu on the library's website.

The results will inform you if we have a journal in the collection, and provide a link. You may then browse or search inside the journal.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility