Art & Design related websites for news, criticism, and opportunities
Illuminated Piñata No. 2
Abduzeedo: "Abduzeedo is a collective of individual writers sharing articles about architecture, design, photography, and UX (user experience design)."
Adweek: "Adweek is the leading source of news and insight serving the brand marketing ecosystem."
AIGA Eye on Design: The blog published by the American Institute of Graphic Arts
Apollo Magazine: "The International Art Magazine, Apollo is one of the world’s oldest and most respected magazines on the visual arts." The Macdonald-Kelce Library also subscribes via several databases (sign into MyUTampa first to access).
ArchDaily: Architecture news, including articles, contests, interviews, and more.
Art Daily: "The first art newspaper on the net." Features tons of content about current openings
Art F City: contemporary art news
Artists Network: offers video workshops on art techniques, events, and competitions
Artist Space Registry: artist's registry
The Art Newspaper: UK based online publication featuring news from museums and galleries around the world, with useful event guides and exhibition calendars.
Art Slant: contemporary art network
Art Observed: global contemporary art events and news
ART21: non-profit art organization known for their PBS show Art in the Twenty-First Century
artnet news: lists of emerging artists
Artsy: check out their emerging art lists and fair guides
AskART: artist database featuring biographies, price valuation reports, articles, photographs, audio and video clips
Bad at Sports: a weekly podcast, a series of objects, events, and a daily blog produced in Chicago, San Francisco, Detroit and New York City that features artists and art worlders talking about art and the community that makes, reviews and participates in it.
Blouin ArtInfo: global source for news, information, and commentary on art and artists
Colossal: "Launched in 2010 by writer and curator Christopher Jobson, Colossal is one of the largest visual art, design, and culture blogs on the web."
Contemporary Art Daily: a daily journal of international exhibitions
e-flux: online journal and direct email announcements of exhibitions and programs
Eye Magazine: website of the print graphic design journal that features a blog, essays, and events
Frieze: a definitive resource for contemporary art and culture with an international exhibitions calendar
Hyperallergic: contemporary art and culture criticism
Illustration Age: a blog and professional resource for Illustrators
Museum - iD: global independent think tank for museum and heritage professionals
Print Magazine: website of the popular design magazine with news, events, essays, and criticism
Rhizome: blog about new media art, affiliated with the New Museum in NYC
Through the Flower: "Through the Flower is a non-profit Feminist art organization founded by Judy Chicago in 1978. Our mission is to educate a broad public about the importance of art and its power in countering the erasure of women's achievements."
Typeroom: a curated blog of innovative typographic works
Universes in Universe: online art portal
Walker Reader: art world news hosted by the Walker Art Center. Includes current discussions on design, education, film/video, performance art, and visual art
Art Guide: Discover over 700 museums and galleries plus all the best exhibitions across the UK
Magnus: "Shazam for art"
Smartify: Smartify is a free app that allows you to scan and identify artworks, access rich interpretation and build a personal art collection in some of the world’s best museums and galleries.
Art Reference, Online Exhibitions, & Digital Humanities Websites
Explore these reference sources and digital archives
Art cyclopedia: A directory of artists, artworks, and museums. See which museums house an artist's work.
ArtUK: Art collections from 3,200 UK organizations featuring podcasts, online exhibitions, and engaging stories.
Colorsystem: "Do you know Isaac Newton’s Theory of Colour? Or maybe Goethe’s? We present you with a total of 59 easy-to-understand, richly illustrated colour theories from the Antiquity to modern times: in short, a complete cultural history of colour written by Prof. Narciso Silvestrini and Prof. Ernst Peter Fischer."
Connect Vermeer: "Through a series of interactive visualisations, this website allows users to discover the network of connections between Vermeer and his sixteen contemporaries. Users can discover the strength and likelihood of relationships between the seventeen artists, the impact of an individual artist’s paintings on the work of his contemporaries, as well as how artists adopted, adapted and disguised elements, from their peers’ work, in their own paintings."
Dictionary of Art Historians: A biographical dictionary of historians of western art written and maintained by scholars for the benefit of the public. This site seeks to compile the documented facts of an historian's life in order to serve as a background for understanding a specific text and the historiography of art.
Digital Agnes: Canadian portal for curatorial research and online exhibitions.
DigitalNZ: 300+ collections from around New Zealand
Directory of Artists' Book Collections: A list compiled from the library at Carnegie Mellon University of artists' book collections in the US and Canada. Some universities have online exhibits and digital collections.
edcat: An online catalog of artists' books and publications.
Europeana: 50,000,000 European works of art, books, music, and more
Google Arts & Culture: +2,000 museum partners from +80 countries
Images of Rome: The Rodolfo Lanciani Digital Archive: Collection providing virtual access to a premier collection of historic depictions of Rome amassed by Rodolfo Lanciani (1845–1929)
Khan Academy, Art History: Provides good text and video overviews covering the major time periods of art history, arranged chronologically and by location.
Memorica: Open access Mexican culture content portal.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History: "The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
Smarthistory: A free resource that includes images, videos, and essays, for the study of art and cultural heritage, created by art historians, archaeologists, curators and other specialists.
Urban Archive: Digital archive collections from 70+ mostly NY based museums and historical societies. Explore collections on the map.
V21ArtSpace: Experience 360 walkthroughs of virtual tours.
The Warburg Institute Iconographic Database: The Warburg Institute of the University of London houses an impressive manuscript collection, some of which is digitized. Search for specific iconographies, symbols, or key words, or browse by century/manuscript.
Jaume Plensa (Spanish, b. 1955)
Laura with Bun, 2014
Photo Courtesy of Skip O’Rourke/Tampa Bay Times
Currently on view at the Tampa Museum of Art