Macdonald-Kelce Library: Scholarly Communication @ UT: Locating Open Access Journals

Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Search by ISBN, subject, publisher, or language. Over 300,000 journals with 900 subject specialties. You can narrow results by clicking on the "Open Access" option. OA journals are also indicated with the bright blue "unlocked" icon.
Provides data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians. You can narrow OA results by clicking on the "Open Access" option. OA journals are also indicated with the bright blue "unlocked" icon.

Cabell's Directory

Cabell's Directory This link opens in a new window
Search by title, discipline, or ISSN. Assists researchers in selecting journals most likely to publish their manuscripts. To find OA journals, click on "Filters" to the right of the search box to show the bottom menu, and then click on "Open Access."

Web of Science

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Limit to Open Access with the search results filter on the left.
Contains Web of Science Core Collection, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, and SciELO Citation Indexota 2020.

Results clearly indicate where open access full text will be located (from publisher, in a repository, such as UT's IR, etc.). For more information about WOS's OA definitions, click here.

Click on any journal title to see the summary Journal Citation Reports. The Journal Impact Factor (JIF) is the number of citations received compared with total citable works in the journal over the previous two years. Most JIF scores range between 1 and 10.

Online Resources to Locate OA Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that lists over 12,000 high quality, peer reviewed Open Access journals.

Public Library of Science (PLoS), BioMed Central, and F1000 are established Open Access publishers for scientific research. There are additional journals published by smaller publishers, and most major publishers offer 'hybrid Open Access publishing' with an APC fee.

Open Access publishing is growing in the humanities and social sciences. If you're publishing humanities research, the Open Library of Humanities is an exciting new Open Access publisher with no author publication charges. The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is an award-winning publisher of humanities scholarship based at Birkbeck, University of London. OLH provides diamond open access, which refers to academic texts published/distributed/preserved with no fees to either reader or author.

Complete the Macdonald-Kelce Library Survey

Scholarly Communication @ UT

Ulrichsweb

Cabell's Directory

Web of Science

Online Resources to Locate OA Journals