American FactFinder - American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
American National Election Studies - The American National Election Studies serves the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists. This website produces high quality data from our surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
Annenberg Public Policy Center Data Sets - The Annenberg Public Policy Center (University of Pennsylvania) conducts surveys and gathers data for research purposes. The policy center makes data sets available to scholars for academic research.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) - Apart of the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), BTS is the preeminent source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight, and transportation economics.
Data.gov - The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
DataHub - Search quality data and datasets organized by topic.
EDR: Office of Economic and Demographic Research - The Office of Economic and Demographic Research (EDR) is a research arm of the Legislature principally concerned with forecasting economic and social trends that affect policy making, revenues, and appropriations.
figshare - An open access repository for sharing research in most subjects.
General Social Survey - Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
Google Dataset Search - Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.
Harvard Dataverse - A searchable open source research data repository.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) - ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) - Department of Homeland Security - Since the passage of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, the OIS has responsibility to carry out two statutory requirements: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components.
Open Data Journals - These journals publish peer reviewed articles describing openly accessible datasets for future reuse.
Pew Research Center - Download Datasets from the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract (sign into Esearch to access) - This source is both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.
Statista (sign into Esearch to access) - One of the leading statistics databases. With a team of over 80 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
USA Spending - USAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. Its mission is to show the American public what the federal government spends every year and how it spends the money.
United States Census Bureau (Census.gov) - The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the United States' leading provider of quality data about its people and economy. Browse data by topic.
The Democracy Fund Voter Study Group - A research collaboration of more than two dozen analysts and scholars from across the political spectrum examining and delivering insights on the evolving views of American voters.
African Centre for Statistics - UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) provides statistics including African socio-economic indicators; African Statistical Yearbook; Integrated national and sub regional economic, social and environmental indicators; and, Compendium of intra-African and related foreign trade statistics.
Asian Development Bank (ADB), Statistics and Databases - Offers economic and poverty statistics of Asia and Pacific countries.
Comparative Agendas Project (CAP) - CAP enables scholars, students, policy-makers and the media to investigate trends in policy-making across time and between countries.
Europa - Provides statistics and opinion polls from countries in the European Union.
Eurostat - Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe.
International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (International IDEA) - Data on voters and voting, political parties, and international electoral systems.
Humanitarian Data Exchange - The Centre for Humanitarian Data is focused on increasing the use and impact of data in the humanitarian sector. It is managed by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). This site offers case studies that use open datasets that tackle certain initiatives (for instance, battling Ebola in Sierra Leone).
International Data Base (U.S. Census Bureau) - The International Data Base (IDB) was developed by the U.S. Census Bureau to provide access to accurate and timely demographic measures for populations around the world. The database includes a comprehensive set of indicators, as produced by the U.S. Census Bureau since the 1960s.
International Social Survey Program - The ISSP is a cross-national collaboration program conducting annual surveys on diverse topics relevant to social sciences.
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Data - The mission of the OECD is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. They provide data on multiple topics, including agriculture, economies, society, and health.
Our World in Data - An aggregate of data from thousands of researchers around the world on current global problems including poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and inequality.
Population Reference Bureau (PRB) - The PRB's mission is to inform people around the world about population, health, and the environment. They also empower people to use this information to advance the well-being of current and future generations. Access featured indicators, U.S. and international data resources, and the World Population Data Sheet site here.
Statistical Institute for Asia and the Pacific (SIAP) - SIAP aims to collect, analyze and disseminate statistics as well as to produce timely and high quality statistics that can be utilized for economic and social development planning.
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) - SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Provides data and analysis on these topics.
UNdata - UNdata brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
UNstats - UNstats compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. They facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) - The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. Explore statistics by subject or country.
The World Bank - At the World Bank, the Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Browse by country or indicator (for instance, Climate Change).