The University of Tampa Macdonald-Kelce Library

Databases for On-Site Public Users

The lists below include databases that are available to the on-site public users at the Macdonald-Kelce Library

Medical Sciences

  • AMA Manual of Style- This guide specifies the writing and citation styles used in journals published by the American Medical Association (AMA).
  • CHEMnetBASE- Cross-searchable collection of chemistry databases and dictionaries, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Dictionary of Drugs, and Dictionary of Food Compounds.
  • CINAHL Complete- Covers the top journals in nursing and allied health dating back to 1976. Includes nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials- Provides a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others
  • Cochrane Clinical Answers- Provides a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews.
  • Cochrane Methodology Register- This database is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online- Offers the complete Encyclopedia Britannica online as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
  • Health and Medicine- A comprehensive database covering a complete range of healthcare topics for nursing and allied health students.
  • Info-Sci-Books- Disseminates vetted quality content within 11 core subject areas, including business and management; computer science and information technology; education.
  • Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database- Includes evidence summaries, recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews and systematic protocols.
  • JSTOR- A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It covers a wide assortment of scholarly resources covering disciplines such as art .
  • LWW Health Library: PA Core Education- Contains required textbooks and multimedia assets — for use in medical, pharmacy, and other health sciences programs.
  • Merck Index- Comprehensive reference database for those researching chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
  • New England Journal of Medicine- Provides scholarly peer-reviewed articles and interactive clinical content in the biomedical sciences and clinical practice.
  • Nursing and Allied Health Database- Provides information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complimentary medicine with full-text scholarly articles and dissertations. Training videos, covering topics such as health care safety are available. Includes multicultural reports from CultureGrams.
  • Ovid- A comprehensive, integrated nursing portal  that will link you to either the Joanna Briggs Evidence Based Practice database or Journals@Ovid.
  • SciTech Premium Collection- Provides full-text scholarly materials from around the world on the sciences, engineering, geography, homeland security and terrorism .
  • Social Science and Humanities Library- Excellent foundation for research and teaching in these fields: anthropology, archaeology, arts & humanities, business .
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text- Provides comprehensive sources with full-text scholarly articles on sports, sports medicine, physical fitness, physical education, physiology, and medicine.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility