The University of Tampa Macdonald-Kelce Library

Law & Legal Studies

Get started with legal studies and law research here.

These resources on the open internet may be useful for your research.

United States

United States

  • American Association of Law Libraries - National association dedicated to law librarians and other legal information professionals. (Public Legal Resources may be helpful.)

  • American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!) - American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!) provides a comprehensive, uniform, and useful compilation of links to all on-line sources of American law that are available without charge.

  • Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates, 1774-1873 - A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation consists of a linked set of published congressional records of the United States of America from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress, 1774-1875.

  • Code of Federal Regulations - The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis. The current update status appears at the top of all e-CFR web pages

  • Congressional Hearings - Law Library of Congress (Library of Congress) - The Law Library of Congress contains approximately 75,000 volumes of printed Congressional Hearings. Committees hold hearings for a variety of purposes. Testimony is received from members of Congress, officials of the executive branch, policy experts, interest groups and sometimes the general public on legislative proposals, the functioning of government programs, subjects of controversy, and matters under investigation.

  • Cornell Law Library - Research Guides - Extensive set of links to legal content. United States law, International Law, by country, specific topics on U.S. Law, etc.

  • Court Locator - Search by ZIP Code or city and state, using the state's two-letter postal code (e.g. Tampa, FL), to find nearby court locations in your district or circuit.

  • Federal Register - The Office of the Federal Register informs citizens of their rights and obligations, documents the actions of Federal agencies, and provides a forum for public participation in the democratic process. Our publications provide access to a wide range of Federal benefits and opportunities for funding and contain comprehensive information about the various activities of the United States Government.

  • Guide to Law Online: Law Reviews - Law Library of Congress (Library of Congress) - The Guide to Law Online is an annotated compendium of Internet links; a portal of Internet sources of interest to legal researchers. Although the Guide is selective, inclusion of a site by no means constitutes endorsement by either the Law Library of Congress or its Office of Collection, Outreach, and Services.

  • Indigo Book - A free, Creative Commons-dedicated implementation of The Bluebook’s Uniform System of Citation. The Indigo Book was compiled by a team of students at the New York University School of Law.

  • Introduction to Basic Legal Citation - Guide provided by the LII at Cornell University. This site also provides streaming videos that instruct users on how to correctly cite legal materials.

  • Justia Dockets & Filings - Justia is focused on making legal information, resources and services easy to find on the Internet. The company provides Internet users with free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog databases, as well as community resources.

  • Law Library of Congress (Library of Congress) - The mission of The Law Library of Congress, the national law library, is to make its resources available to Members of Congress, the Supreme Court, other branches of the U.S. Government, and the global legal community.

  • Laws and Regulations – General Reference Resources: USA.gov - Mission: To create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible to the public anytime, anywhere, via their channel of choice.

  • Legal Blawg Archive - This is a selective collection of authoritative sites (associated with American Bar Association approved law schools, research institutes, think tanks, and other expertise-based organizations) that contain unique, born digital content. These blogs contain journal-style entries, articles and essays, discussions, and comments on emerging legal issues, national and international. Additional sites are selected incrementally.

  • LII | Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School - The LII publishes electronic versions of core materials in numerous areas of the law, both on the web and in other electronic products. They range from the Constitution to the U.S. Code, from Supreme Court decisions to the Code of Federal Regulations. It maintains this Internet site and its many resources.

  • LLRX - LLRX.com is a unique, free, independent, one woman published Web journal dedicated to providing legal, library, IT, CI/BI, marketing, communications, Congressional, legislative, academic and administrative professionals, as well as students, with the most up-to-date information on a wide range of Internet research and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools.

  • LLSDC's Legislative Source Book - The Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. (LLSDC) was established in 1939 for educational, informational and scientific purposes. It is conducted as a nonprofit corporation to promote librarianship; to develop and increase the effectiveness of law librarians; to cultivate the profession of law librarianship; to foster a spirit of ethical cooperation among members of the profession; and to provide for the further continuing education of law librarians.

  • Municode Library - Directory of Municipal Codes throughout the U.S. Municode the nation's leading codifier of city and county codes of ordinances.

  • National Center for State Courts State Court Web sites | NCSC.org - The National Center for State Courts is an independent, nonprofit court improvement organization founded at the urging of Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Warren E. Burger.  He envisioned NCSC as a clearinghouse for research information and comparative data to support improvement in judicial administration in state courts.

  • Oyez Project | U.S. Supreme Court Oral Argument Recordings, Case Abstracts and More - The Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.

  • SCOTUSblog - SCOTUSblog is devoted to comprehensively covering the U.S. Supreme Court without bias and according to the highest journalistic and legal ethical standards.  The blog is provided as a public service.

  • State Government Offices, Local US Government, City Government and Federal Government - The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.

  • Supreme Court of the United States - The Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress. The number of Associate Justices is currently fixed at eight (28 U.S.C. §1). Power to nominate the Justices is vested in the President of the United States and appointments are made with the advice and consent of the Senate.

  • U.S. Code LII Cornell - Searchable U.S. Code from LII. The LII publishes electronic versions of core materials in numerous areas of the law, both on the web and in other electronic products. They range from the Constitution to the U.S. Code, from Supreme Court decisions to the Code of Federal Regulations.

  • U.S. Senate - Directory of members of the U.S. Senate, etc.

  • United States House of Representatives - Elected to a two-year term, each representative serves the people of a specific congressional district by introducing bills and serving on committees, among other duties.

  • U.S. Courts - This site is maintained by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts on behalf of the Federal Judiciary. The purpose of this site is to provide information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.

  • USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal - Government information and services accessible to the public anytime, anywhere, via their channel of choice. USA.gov is an interagency initiative administered by the Federal Citizen Information Center, a division of the U.S. General Services Administration's Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies.

Constitutional Law

Constitutional Law

  • Consource - ConSource is a free online library of constitutional history. Digitized and cross-reference source documents written by individuals who drafted, ratified, and influenced the creation of the U.S. Constitution and its Amendments.

  • The American Constitution - A Documentary Record - From the Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Law Library. Part of the Avalon Project, documents in Law, History nad diplomacy.

  • American Constitution Society - The American Constitution Society (ACS) believes that law should be a force to improve the lives of all people. ACS works for positive change by shaping debate on vitally important legal and constitutional issues through development and promotion of high-impact ideas to opinion leaders and the media; by building networks of lawyers, law students, judges and policymakers dedicated to those ideas; and by countering the activist conservative legal movement that has sought to erode our enduring constitutional values.

  • Constitution Annotated (U.S. Senate) - Provides the original text of each clause of the Constitution with an accompanying explanation of its meaning and how that meaning has changed over time.

  • Constitution Facts - Companion website to "The U.S. Constitution & Fascinating Facts About It"

  • Constitutional Law: An Overview (Cornell) - Legal Information Institute section on Constitutional Law.

  • Exploring Constitutional Law (UMKC Doug Linder) - This site explores some of the great issues and controversies that surround our Nation's founding document.

  • Federalist Papers

  • Findlaw Constitutional Law

  • Founders Constitution - Hailed as "the Oxford English Dictionary of American constitutional history," the print edition of The Founders' Constitution has proved since its publication in 1986 to be an invaluable aid to all those seeking a deeper understanding of one of our nation's most important legal documents.

  • Law Library of Congress Constitutional Law Section

  • National Archives Constitution Section

  • National Constitution Center - The National Constitution Center is the first and only institution in America established by Congress to “disseminate information about the United States Constitution on a non-partisan basis in order to increase the awareness and understanding of the Constitution among the American people.” The Constitution Center brings the United States Constitution to life by hosting interactive exhibitions (see Explore the Constitution) and constitutional conversations and inspires active citizenship by celebrating the American constitutional tradition.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility