Macdonald-Kelce Library: History: Articles

History Resources

Day in the Life through History

• "Compiles information from over 45 Greenwood single- and multivolume reference works

• Idea Exchange sections provide students with the opportunity to model their research writing upon thesis-driven, peer-reviewed essays, posing questions such as "Is 'the family' an essential requirement for a stable society?" and "How was the life of the common person most affected by the Industrial Revolution?"

• Video and audio files, maps, and images offer fascinating insights into history"

ABC-CLIO EBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers world cultures, world history, global issues, sociology, literature, etc.
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
A rare view of what rush hour in London looked like in 1897. The dramatic and suspenseful newsreel announcing the crash of the Hindenburg zeppelin. President Ronald Reagan’s challenging speech at the Brandenburg Gate.
Daily Life through History This link opens in a new window
Presents the daily life and customs of peoples throughout history and modern times with reference articles, images, maps and primary documents.
History Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to full text articles on history. History Collection can also be searched as part of Periodicals Archive Online.
Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War This link opens in a new window
A digital archive presenting documents that preserve the history of the Civil War. The collection examines the war in all its complexity: the battles and campaigns ...
political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, from its causes to its consequences. The archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, regimental histories and photograph albums, legal treatises and children's books.
U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals and magazines that can be used by novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers.
Updated daily, U.S. History offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.