The University of Tampa Macdonald-Kelce Library

Music, Music Education, and Performance

Scores and Sheet Music Resources

Choral Public Domain Library - Offers free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.

Free Scores - Offers free contemporary, classical and educational sheet music for all instruments. Free-scores.com also acts as a platform for composers, arrangers and publishers. There may be usage restrictions which are detailed in the license page.

International Music Score Library Project -  IMSLP's mission is to gather and make available all public domain music scores and the music scores of contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge. it also serves as a platform to facilitate the exchange of musical ideas outside of compositions.

Muse Data - A project of the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities at Stanford University, this site provides scores and MIDI files by composers, Bach, Beethoven, Corelli, etc.

Mutopia - The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music in the public domain for free download.

Smithsonian Jazz - The Smithsonian Institution has a long record of leadership in preserving and promoting the historical legacy of jazz, presenting diverse jazz programs, and supporting jazz education.

 

Digital Archives

Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM) - This is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts. It provides images and metadata for thousands of manuscripts and serves as a home for scholarly resources and editions.

Eastman School, Sibley Library - Eastman's online collection of music scores and books in the public domain.

Julliard Manuscript Collection - The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school in February 2006.

Loeb Music Library's Digital Collection of Scores and Libretti - This digital collection includes manuscripts, first editions, and early editions of music from the 17th to the early 20th century.

New York Philharmonic Digital Archives - The Archives, the oldest and most comprehensive collection of any symphony orchestra, contains approximately six million pages that date back to its founding in 1842, with holdings that include correspondence, business records, orchestral scores and parts, photographs, concert programs, and newspaper clippings, as well as concert and broadcast recordings dating from the 1920s.

Organizations

American Federation of Musicians - Largest organization in the world representing the interests of professional musicians. They negotiate fair agreements, protect ownership of recorded music, secure benefits such as health care and pension, and lobby our legislators, etc. AFM is committed to raising industry standards and placing the professional musician in the foreground of the cultural landscape.

American Musicological Society - The Society was founded in 1934 as a non-profit organization to advance "research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship."

American Pianists Association - The mission of the Association is to discover, promote and advance the careers of young, American, world-class, jazz and classical pianists.

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers - ASCAP, an organization owned and run by its members, is the leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization representing over 540,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers.

American String Teachers Association - A membership organization for string and orchestra teachers and players, helping them to develop and refine their careers, ASTA's members range from budding student teachers to artist-status performers. The organization provides a vast array of services, including instrument insurance, an award-winning scholarly journal, discounts on publications and resources, annual professional development opportunities, and access to a network of colleagues throughout the string profession.

College Music Society - CMS promotes music teaching and learning, musical creativity and expression, research and dialogue, and diversity and interdisciplinary interaction. A consortium of college, conservatory, university, and independent musicians and scholars interested in all disciplines of music, the Society provides leadership and serves as an agent of change by addressing concerns facing music in higher education.

International Association for the Study of Popular Music - IASPM is an international organization established to promote inquiry, scholarship and analysis in the area of popular music

International Association of Music Information Centres - IAMIC is a worldwide network of organizations that document, promote, and/or provide in-depth information about the music of their country or region over a wide variety of musical genres, including (contemporary) classical music, world music, jazz and pop.

International Association of Music Libraries - IAML encourages and promotes the activities of music libraries, archives and documentation centers to support and facilitate projects in music bibliography, music documentation and music library and information science at national and international levels.

International Computer Music Association - ICMA is an international affiliation of individuals and institutions involved in the technical, creative, and performance aspects of computer music. It serves composers, engineers, researchers and musicians who are interested in the integration of music and technology.

International Society for Contemporary Music - ISCM is a premier forum for the advancement, dissemination and interchange of new music from around the world.

International Women in Jazz - IWJ is a non-profit organization committed to supporting women jazz artists and related professionals.

National Association for Music Education - NAfME addresses all aspects of music education; advocates at the local, state, and national levels; provides resources for teachers, parents, and administrators; hosts professional development events; and offers a variety of opportunities for students and teachers.

Percussive Arts Society - The Society is the world's largest percussion organization and is considered the central source for information and networking for percussionists and drummers of all ages.

Society for American Music - The Society  is dedicated to the study, teaching, creation and dissemination of all musics in the Americas.

Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the U.S. - SEAMUS is a non-profit national organization of composers, performers, and teachers of electro-acoustic music representing every part of the country and virtually every musical style. Electro-Acoustic music is a term used to describe those musics which are dependent on electronic technology for their creation and/or performance.

Society for Ethnomusicology - Founded in 1955, the Society for Ethnomusicology is a global, interdisciplinary network of individuals and institutions engaged in the study of music in all historical periods and cultural contexts.

Society for Music Theory - The Society promotes the development of and engagement with music theory as a scholarly and pedagogical discipline. They construe this discipline broadly as embracing all approaches, from conceptual to practical, and all perspectives, including those of the scholar, listener, composer, performer, teacher, and student.

Centers and Institutes

CEMI Center for Experimental Music and Intermedia - CEMI is an interdisciplinary center focused on music and arts technologies, housed within UNT's Division of Composition Studies. CEMI's mission is to advance the state of the art in experimental music and intermedia.

Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics - CCRMA is a multi-disciplinary facility where composers and researchers work together using computer-based technology both as an artistic medium and as a research tool.

Center for Contemporary Music - CCM has been at the forefront of developments emphasizing experimental methods in contemporary music and its allied arts and sciences. Since its inception, this organization has achieved a strong international reputation as a leading center for innovation in music.

Center for the history of music theory and literature - CHMTL brings together various research activities and projects in the fields of music theory and historical musicology.

World Beat Center - A non-profit multi-cultural arts organization we are dedicated to promoting, presenting & preserving the African & Indigenous cultures of the world through Music, Art, Dance, Education & Technology.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility