UTIcon
Macdonald-Kelce Library

José Martí

The José Martí guide offers access to historical sites associated with Marti near The University of Tampa, as well as resources for research, including databases, books, and other materials.

Databases, Collections, and Other Resources

This section of the José Martí guide provides information on relevant databases, digital collections, and archives. The library databases are available on campus only. The digital archives and collections are freely available online.

The library also subscribes to La Gaceta Newspaper, which is available in our Periodicals Reading Room on the first floor of the library.

Library Databases

Click here to access all databases. If you do not have a UT username and password, you must be on campus to access these databases.

If you have trouble with access, please call the library at (813) 253-6231 or email us.

Digital Archives and Collections

University of Florida's Celebrating Cuba! Collection - a digital collection of maps, legal materials, monographs, journals, and newspapers in a partnership with the Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí (BNJM).

Digital Library of the Caribbean - an extensive digital collection of Cuban resources, including the Romero Family Papers Regarding José Martí collection.

University of Miami's Cuban Historical and Literary Manuscript Collection - a digital collection of original manuscripts from the 17th to the 20th centuries, including manuscript books, slavery sales and property documents, wills, and correspondence (including many items pertaining to José Martí and the Cuban Revolution).

University of Miami's Cuban Heritage Collection - digital collections with digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries' Cuban Heritage Collection.

University of South Florida Digital Collections: Cuban Revolutionaries - collection of portraits of Cuban revolutionaries and others taken from the La Caricatura newspaper from between 1895-1912.

University of South Florida Digital Collections: Otero y Colominas Cuban Photographs - a collection of photographs by the Havana-based photography firm Otero y Colominas depicting wartime life in Havana in the 1890s.

University of South Florida Digital Collections: Wehman Collection of Florida Spanish American War Photographs - a collection of wartime photographs taken in Tampa.

University of South Florida - Cuban Wars of Liberation/Spanish American War Special Collections - USF special collection focusing on rare items pertaining to Cuba's wars for liberation and the Spanish American War.

Carlos Ripoll Collection - housed at Florida International University, the Carlos Ripoll Collection includes material related to Marti gathered while Ripoll studied the life of the Cuban patriot.

Florida Memory Project - a digital collection featuring photographs, video, audio, and other items housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida.

Library of Congress - search the Library of Congress for materials related to José Martí and the Cuban Revolution.

Ready To Fight For Cuba

"READY TO FIGHT FOR CUBA: WAITING IN FLORIDA FOR AN OPPORTUNITY TO SAIL. ENTHUSIASM AT A MEETING IN KEY WEST MONDAY NIGHT -- VOLUNTEERS RESPOND TO A CALL FOR MEN -- IT IS SAID THAT AN EXPEDITION WILL SOON START -- PREDICTIONS MADE THAT THE ISLAND WILL BE INDEPEND- ENT WITHIN TWO YEARS -- SPANISH REPORTS THAT NO BATTLE HAS BEEN FOUGHT." New York Times (1857-1922), May 03, 1893, pp. 1. ProQuest, AVAILABLE THROUGH THE HISTORICAL NEW YORK TIMES DATABASE.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility