Skip to main content
UTIcon
Macdonald-Kelce Library

History

A guide to help you locate books, scholarly articles, and primary sources as well as citation guidelines related to historical research.

Historical News

Start here when looking for newspaper articles from the past.

The following are available on the open internet.

Contemporary News

The distinction between 'historical' and 'contemporary' news on this page is rather arbitrary. Roughly, contemporary covers everything from today's news to about a quarter century ago. However, different databases cover different date ranges, so double-check the collections to ensure they are covering the dates you are researching.

Historical American Newspapers on the Internet

A selection of resources freely available online, in alphabetical order by state. For states not included here, please check the Library of Congress's Chronicling America site above.

1874 -1901. Covers four titles.

Made available by the Alabama Department of Archives & History.

1962 -1997, searchable full text. The "voice of Alaskan Natives."

1859-1937. Searchable and browsable collection of newspapers from across the state, with varying coverage.

Searchable full text back to 1846. Material is also made available through the Chronicling America site

1859 -1923, searchable full text in digitized facsimile of the originals. Includes 147 newspapers, representing 60 cities and 40 counties. Titles published in English, German, Spanish and Swedish.

Includes historic and current Florida newspapers. Searchable full text. Also includes sub-collections of Ethnic Newspapers from Florida and Florida Jewish Newspapers.

1763-2017. Searchable full text in digitized facsimile

1834-1948. Searchable full text. Newspapers in the Hawaiian language.

1831-2011. Searchable full text. Contains 129 titles with varying coverage.

1804-2011. Searchable full text. Includes newspapers from across the state with varying coverage.

1837-2017. List of searchable full text newspapers from many sources compiled by the University of Northern Iowa.

1873-1922. Searchable full text. Includes three newspapers. Others available through Chronicling America site.

1827-1923. Non-searchable full text in pdf format. French language newspaper with an English section and briefly (from 1829 to 1830) a Spanish section.

1829-2016. Searchable full text. Compilation of digitized Maine newspapers from a variety of different sources.

List of searchable full text newspapers from many sources compiled by Central Michigan University.

1850-Present. Searchable full text. Most issues published less than 95 years ago are not accessible online.

1808 -1994. Searchable full text in digitized facsimile of the original. Includes newspapers from counties across the state, covering varying time periods.

1883-2017. Searchable full text. Includes newspapers from across the state with varying coverage.

1854-1987. Searchable full text. Includes 66 Nebraska newspapers with varying coverage.

1860-1923. Searchable full text in pdf format. Includes ten titles from Atlantic County (including Atlantic City)

1852-1948. Searchable full text. Newspapers from across the state of varying coverage, hosted by the University of New Mexico.

1841-1963. Searchable full text. Includes the Brooklyn Daily Eagle and Brooklyn Life.

1822-Present. Searchable full text of newspapers published in Suffolk County, New York (Long Island), in digitized facsimile of the originals.

1725-2018. Covers many newspapers, varying years for each. Searchable by county.

List of searchable full text newspapers from the University of North Carolina. Titles from across the state, including student newspapers.

Searchable full text newspapers across the state, covering varying time periods. Currently includes 749 titles.

1846-2019. Searchable full text of newspapers from across the state, with varying coverage.

1831-1880. Searchable, full text digital facsimile of the originals. Can also be browsed by issue.
Includes titles from across the state, with varying years of coverage.

List of searchable full text newspapers available largely through Google News.

Full text newspapers from across the state. Searchable by county.

Searchable full text of newspapers from across the state, with varying coverage.

1850-2018. Searchable full text in digitized facsimile of the originals. Includes many newspapers from across the state, with varying years of coverage. This project also contributes to the Chronicling America project

1860-1865. Searchable full text but non-facsimile format.

Searchable full text newspapers from across the state, with varying coverage.

1736-1780. From Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Browsable but not searchable.

1852-1892. Searchable full text. Includes newspapers from across the state with varying coverage. Also offers broad subject browsing.

1840-2009. Links to newspapers from across the state, available through different resources. From the Potomac State College Library of the University of West Virginia.

1849-1970. Searchable full text. Includes over 340 titles, with varying coverage.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility