The University of Tampa Macdonald-Kelce Library

Mathematics, Statistics, and Actuarial Science

This guide is a starting point for Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science.

Locating Articles in Summon

Use the facets in the Summon results page to narrow your search. Search using your keywords, then restrict your search to 'Scholarly & Peer-Review' (for example).

Scan entries for new terms to use in your next search.

Search everything.

Use Summon to search across the entire library catalog (books, DVDs, government documents) and most of the library databases (journal articles, images, newspapers).

Advanced Search

 

Locating Articles in Google Scholar

Another path for locating scholarship is to use Google Scholar.

Google Scholar defines scholarship more broadly than most of your professors, so always double-check to make sure what you're finding is suitable. Google Scholar also includes much material which is not available in the library databases (but is typically available through interlibrary loan).

If you are not on campus, you need to adjust your settings in Google Scholar so it can search the library's databases.

For more information about effective use of Google Scholar, see our handout.

Google Scholar Search

Using Specific Databases Instead of Summon

See Best Bets for suggested databases.  You can also go to the A-Z tab on the Everything Search box, then click on Advanced Search where you will find all the databases listed alphabetically by name.  You can search here by subject to see which other databases are also good for your area.

 

 

Getting Articles That Are Not in the Library's Collection

If you've never requested an article from another library, check out our guide to interlibrary loan (ILL). Or, go straight to the form.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility