Skip to Main Content
Icon MACDONALD-KELCE LIBRARY Building
Spartan Search Databases Databases by Subject Research Guides Journal Search
For Students For Faculty Subject Librarians Research Guides Citing Sources Copyright Government Documents Information Literacy Primary Sources RefWorks Scholarly Communication
Library Account Booking Study Rooms Circulation For Faculty Interlibrary Loan Laptop Checkout Printing
Archives & Special Collections Search Digital Collections Browse Digital Collections Institutional Repository (UoTIR) Exhibits UT Lectures and Events UT Publications & History
About Contact Us Hours MKL Lecture Series and Events Policies Visitor Information
Giving: Friends of the MKL FAQ

ADA Services

Step by Step Visual Guide for Finding Books

Finding Books in the Library

Spartan Search

You can also use the search box on the library homepage to start finding books or ebooks.

If you know the title of a book, enter it into the search box, or type in key words to find a book on any subject.

➭ Example: Search for "Florida Ecology"

To find books in the collection, under "Resource Type" on the left filter list, choose "Books." This will come up with a list of both physical books and ebooks. If you need just physical books, choose "Physical Items in the Library" under the "Availability" list.

If you want just ebooks, choose "Ebooks" from the top menu next to the search box.

Use other filters found on the left-hand side of the page such as dates and subjects to help you narrow down your search.

Downloading Ebooks: Software and Devices

Navigation:

Each ebook database allows you to read the full-text ebook within the database interface on most desktop, laptop, and mobile devices. Most ebooks are navigable by a Table of Contents, usually found on the left hand side of the screen. For full functionality (annotating, highlighting, bookmarking etc.), you will need to create a separate account with each database.

Downloading:

Keep in mind that some platforms don't allow you to download the entire ebook file to your computer. Some allow for chapter by chapter downloads or sending a chapter via email. 

If you have trouble navigating any ebook platform, please chat with us, email at library@ut.edu, or come visit us in person.

EBSCO eBooks

EBSCO eBooks strives to comply with the WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) 2.1 level A and AA and the U.S. Section 508 Standards of the Federal Rehabilitation Act. Where possible, they go beyond compliance to ensure that all users can have a positive experience with their products and equal access to information. Known limitations of the platform are documented below:

ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest Ebook Central is designed for patrons with accessibility needs, particularly the blind and visually impaired.

Researchers can change the font for the Ebook Central interface to OpenDyslexic, an open-source typeface designed to combat symptoms of dyslexia, directly from the Profile page through Ebook Central.

Patrons using a screen reader may turn on Accessibility Mode themselves. For patrons who don’t use a screen reader but have accessibility needs, Accessibility Mode can be requested for their account at ebooksupport@proquest.com. Please also feel free to contact the Library with questions regarding resource accessibility.

Accessibility Mode controls can be adjusted through your Profile. Select "Profile" under "Settings," then adjust the accessibility settings.

ProQuest Ebook Central Profile

ProQuest Ebook Central Accessibility Mode

Additional information about ProQuest Ebook Central's accessibility features may be found at the ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide Ebook Central (ProQuest)

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility