Macdonald-Kelce Library: Latin American Studies: Current News & Historical Newspapers

Newspaper & News Databases

Access Spanish News
Newsbank newspapers showing Spanish newspapers.
Access World News Spanish language papers
Spanish-language newspapers; also known as Acceda Noticias
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides multi-ethnic and multi-cultural full-text resources such as newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic,minority, and native press organizations.
New York Times Online
Access includes everything The New York Times offers: News, Games, Cooking, Wirecutter, The Athletic.
New users must setup free account first.
Login here to view the NewYork Times Online. Or go directly to NYTimes.com once you have created your free account.

If you do not already have an account and you are on campus, you can go directly to nytimes.com and an activation window will pop-up on the site, after 8 seconds.

NPR's Latino USA with Maria Hinojosa
The foremost Latino voice in public media and the longest running Latino-focused program on U.S. public radio.
Zona Latina - USA
Selected section links to websites of Hispanic/Latino newspapers published across the United States.

Nexis Uni
Full-text news, business, and legal sources including deep archives and up-to-the-minute reports on international, national, and regional news services. Also contains company financial information and Shephard's Citations.
Nexis Uni Search Training

Access Ethnic News
Newsbank newspapers showing ethnic resources.
Access Spanish News
Newsbank newspapers showing Spanish newspapers.
Access World News Spanish language papers
Spanish-language newspapers; also known as Acceda Noticias
America's Historical Newspapers
Offers full-text articles from American newspapers published between 1690 and 1876. Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971, Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, and five subject-specific newspaper collections: American Business: Agricultural Newspapers; American Business: Mercantile Newspapers; American Gazettes: Newspapers of Record; American Politics: Campaign Newspapers; and American Religion: Denominational Newspapers. Washington Evening Star (1852-1981).

Chicano Times Collection
The Chicano Times was a newspaper published in San Antonio from 1970 to 1977, focusing on Mexican American people, events, and issues. In 1972 it absorbed a similar paper published in Dallas called Chicano, and in 1977 it merged with another San Antonio newspaper (Westsider) to form the short-lived Chicano Times the Westsider. The Chicano Times is a rich resource for documenting the history and social concerns of Mexican American people in the San Antonio area during the turbulent 1970s.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides multi-ethnic and multi-cultural full-text resources such as newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic,minority, and native press organizations.

Digital Library of the Carribean (dLOC)
dLOC is a cooperative that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Types of collections include: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts. Hosted by FIU and UF
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press Documents (U of Arizona)
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
La Opinión Digital
Full-text version of the historic Los Angeles Spanish language newspaper