Skip to Main Content

MACDONALD-KELCE LIBRARY

Building

Spartan Search Databases Databases by Subject Research Guides Journal Search

For Students For Faculty Subject Librarians Research Guides Citing Sources Copyright Government Documents Information Literacy Primary Sources RefWorks Scholarly Communication

Library Account Booking Study Rooms Circulation For Faculty Interlibrary Loan Laptop Checkout Printing

Archives & Special Collections Search Digital Collections Browse Digital Collections Institutional Repository (UoTIR) Exhibits UT Lectures and Events UT Publications & History

About Contact Us Hours MKL Lecture Series and Events Policies Visitor Information

Giving: Friends of the MKL FAQ

Citation Management

An overview and comparison of different citation managers, including RefWorks, Zotero, EasyBib, and BibMe.

Citation Tools vs Managers

Keep in mind the difference between one-shot Citation Tools and Citation Managers.

Databases and Chegg tools (i.e. EasyBib) will create one-shot citations for you to copy and paste.

Citation managers such as Zotero, Mendeley, and RefWorks save your citations in an online account and allow you to place citations into your papers.

Database Citation Tools

EBSCO, ProQuest, JSTOR, and many other databases offer free citations for the resources you find.

Look for the CITE link

proquest cite Ebsco cite

In any database look for the citation tools
Choose APA, MLA, Chicago, and several others.
Export multiple citations into RefWorks or other Citation Managers.
Copy and paste. HINT: Paste as plain text or reformat the citation.

Proof the citations! CAPITALIZATION is frequently wrong.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles in many subject areas. Select research from popular to scholarly and peer-reviewed sources.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive databases available online. Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, primary sources, and ebooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and business.

Chegg (EasyBib) Citation Tools

Caveat

Chegg tools such as Bibme.org, Easybib.com, and Citationmachine.net have ads.

Key features:

Signup for free and gain limited access.
Pay for membership ($9.95/month) to get unlimited citations.
Select APA, MLA, Chicago, or another citation format.
Easily create citations from URLs and by searching for books.
Copy and paste citations into your documents.
Proof the citations, especially capitalization.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility