The University of Tampa Macdonald-Kelce Library

Journal Analysis

This guide reviews Web of Science, Ulrichsweb Global Serial Directory and Cabell's Directory.

Ulrichsweb Global Serial Directory

Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians (from the publisher's site).

Why use Ulrichsweb?

Use Ulrichsweb to:

  • Determine if a journal is peer-reviewed or refereed
  • Target journals to submit articles for publication
  • Find journals in your discipline to use as a starting point in a literature search
  • Discover where a journal is indexed and the range of years
  • Discover which library database to access a journal in full text
  • Track journal name changes
  • Find out editorial and publishing information (including location and website)
  • Learn about editorial focus and scope of a journal (sometimes brief reviews are included)

Keep in mind: Ulrichsweb is a directory which provides information about periodicals. It is NOT an index or full text database in which to locate articles.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility