Macdonald-Kelce Library: Art, Design, and Art History: Articles

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

813-257-3244

Subjects: Communication, English & Writing, Film, Animation & Cinematography, Gender & Sexuality, LGBTQ+, Literature & Literary Criticism, Modernism (Art), Museum Studies, Reference, Visual Arts

To do a cross search of most library databases, start with Spartan Search

The following list of subject-specific individual databases will help you find thousands of scholarly articles, images, reference sources like encyclopedias, timelines, and more.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles in biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles in many subject areas. Select research from popular to scholarly and peer-reviewed sources.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes journals, books, and conference papers covering early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Offers the complete Encyclopedia Britannica online as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in the fields of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature on Western art, covering European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, primary sources, and ebooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and business.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and ebooks covering the humanities and social sciences broadly, and more specifically topical areas such as ...
literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Books and journals from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. Offers Online Teaching & Learning Resources, Teaching & Content Alerts, content for Courses & Research. Also contains The Complete Prose of T.S. Eliot: The Critical Edition gathers for the first time in one place the collected, uncollected, and unpublished prose. The fully searchable, integrative edition includes all of Eliot's collected essays, reviews, lectures, commentaries from The Criterion, and letters to editors, including more than 700 uncollected and 150 unpublished pieces from 1905 to 1965 and much more.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive databases available online. Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive multi-disciplinary database offering scholarly articles, ebooks, and reference materials in a wide array of disciplines ...
including such subjects as the arts, behavioral sciences, bioscience, built environment, communication studies, computer science, development studies, earth sciences, economics, finance, business & industry, education, engineering & technology, environment & agriculture, environment and sustainability, food science & technology, geography, health and social care, humanities, information science, language & literature, law, mathematics & statistics, media and film studies, medicine, dentistry, nursing & allied health, museum and heritage studies, physical sciences, politics & international relations, social sciences, sports and leisure, tourism, hospitality and events, urban studies.

Asia Art Archive
AAA’s collection is a dynamic, growing body of material intended to reflect contemporary artistic practice and developments of Asia within an international context.
BHA and RILA
Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) 1975-1989 & Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) 1990-2007.
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.
CORE
CORE is a full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the Humanities. Find Art History, Design, Media Studies, and other humanities scholarship. Sponsored by the College Art Association (CAA).
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Getty Research Portal
An online platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool.
MetPublications
a portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program with 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.
OpenBibArt
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS).
OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. They are funded to perform research on developing tools to provide users with improved access to various types of materials.
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment organized by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for over 20,000 structures and places. These are mostly buildings, but as you explore SAH Archipedia you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more.
World Digital Library
From the Library of Congress - The WDL provides free access to manuscripts, rare books, maps, photographs, and other important cultural heritage documents from all countries.

Chicago Manual of Style

Researchers in the field of Art History often use The Chicago Manual of Style.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online

Purdue OWL Chicago Manual of Style

MLA Manual of Style

MLA is often used for humanities research.

Purdue OWL MLA Style Guide

Top Art Publications (via Google Scholar)

Look up the following periodicals in Journal Search to see the databases where they are digitized (or if the library has them in print)

1. Art Education

2. Leonardo

3. Studies in Art Education

4. International Journal of Art & Design Education

5. The Senses and Society

6. Digital Creativity

7. The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism

8. Design and Culture

9. Grey Room

10. October

11. International Journal of Education Through Art

12. The Art Bulletin

13. Artforum

14. Third Text

15. Visual Arts Research

16. Journal of Design History

17. Afterall: A Journal of Art, Context, and Enquiry

18. Art History

19. History of Photography

20. Leonardo Electronic Almanac

Using Interlibrary Loan

Search WorldCat or Google Scholar for items worldwide.

If you cannot access the article or book from our library, consider making an Interlibrary loan request. See the Interlibrary Loan guide below for more information.

Article/Book Request Form
Form to manually enter book or article requests. You must sign in with your UT login
View Requests

Email questions about requests to ILLRequest@ut.edu
Interlibrary Loan Guide
Google Scholar
A great place to start research that includes many UT databases. (PDF Handout Notes)

Complete the Macdonald-Kelce Library Survey

Art, Design, and Art History

Top Art Publications (via Google Scholar)