Macdonald-Kelce Library: Contemporary & Modern Art: Online Resources

Resources on the Web

A good list of some web portals to explore. For a more comprehensive list, see the Art, Design, and Art History Guide:

Apollo Magazine
Keep on top of the latest art news, reviews and opinion with free daily blogs. The Apollo 40 Under 40 is a selection of the most talented and inspirational young people who are driving forward the art world today. he Macdonald-Kelce Library also subscribes to Apollo via several databases (sign into MyUTampa first to access).
Art21
Art21 produces award-winning documentary films about the world’s most groundbreaking contemporary artists.
Avant-garde and modernist magazines
A fantastic digital archive of Modernist magazines from 1890 - 1945. Hosted by Monoskop, a wiki for collaborative studies of the arts, media and humanities.
The Directory of Artists' Book Collections
A list compiled from the library at Carnegie Mellon University of artists' book collections in the US and Canada. Some universities have online exhibits and digital collections.
International Dada Archive
Founded in 1979 as part of the Dada Archive and Research Center, the International Dada Archive is a scholarly resource for the study of the historic Dada movement. The Archive has compiled a comprehensive collection of documentation and scholarship relating to Dada. (University of Iowa Libraries)
The Museum of Contemporary Digital Art
MoCDA is a museum that exhibits digital artworks for the purpose of documenting, collecting and advancing the position of digital art.
UbuWeb
A large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives.
USModernist Archives
The USModernist library is the largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines - all free to access.

Major Museums

There are hundreds of museums devoted to collecting modern art and the art of today. Here are a few major museum collections in the US with digitized collections.

The Museum of Contemporary Art (Los Angeles)

The Museum of Contemporary Art (Chicago)

The New Museum (New York)

The Whitney (New York)

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) (New York)

Tate Modern (London)

The Guggenheim Museums (New York)

Barnes Foundation (Philadelphia)