Macdonald-Kelce Library: Sociology: Articles

Locating Articles in Spartan Search

Use the facets in the left-hand column to narrow your search. Search using your keywords, then restrict your search to 'Peer-Review' (for example).

Scan entries for new terms to use in your next search.

Spartan Article Search

Spartan Articles Search

Journal Title Search (Example: Chronicle of Higher Education or JAMA)

Using Specific Databases

These are the database I'm most likely to start with if I'm looking for scholarship in Sociology.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers millions of indexed records from top sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice ...
social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. Scholarly research in sociology, social work, and related fields with coverage from 1960 with some dating back to 1882.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive databases available online. Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles in many subject areas. Select research from popular to scholarly and peer-reviewed sources.

Another Way to Search

Use Google Scholar for a broader search.

If you find an article or book, not in full-text, request it from another library.

Article/Book Request Form
Form to manually enter book or article requests. You must sign in with your UT login
View Requests

Email questions about requests to ILLRequest@ut.edu
Google Scholar
A great place to start research that includes many UT databases. (PDF Handout Notes)

Introduction to Library Research
by David Davisson Last Updated Apr 5, 2024 6982 views this year

Top Journals in Sociology

Want to see what is current in top sociology journals? Check out the most recent issue of one of the following.

American Sociological Review
The American Sociological Association's flagship journal, founded in 1936 with the mission to publish original works of interest to the discipline of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations.
Demography
Antipode

Interlibrary Loan - get items from other libraries

Using Interlibrary Loan

Search WorldCat or Google Scholar for items worldwide.

If you cannot access the article or book from our library, consider making an Interlibrary loan request. See the Interlibrary Loan guide below for more information.

Article/Book Request Form
Form to manually enter book or article requests. You must sign in with your UT login
View Requests

Email questions about requests to ILLRequest@ut.edu
Interlibrary Loan Guide
Google Scholar
A great place to start research that includes many UT databases. (PDF Handout Notes)

Complete the Macdonald-Kelce Library Survey

Sociology