Datasets and statistics for Sports Management
Baseball-Reference.com - MLB Stats, Standings, Scores, History
Site providing excellent statistics and resources for sports fans. Their goal is to be the easiest-to-use, fastest, most complete sources for sports statistics.
College Football Statistics & History | College Football at Sports-Reference.com
College Football Stats and Game Results. Player Stats, stats from schools and conferences. The site also includes sections for coaches, awards, leaders, and the postseason.
Data.gov Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act Data -
Data drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database reported by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.
Equity in Athletics Data Analysis Cutting Tool
Provides customized reports for public inquiries relating to equity in athletics data.
Hockey-Reference.com | Hockey Statistics and History
Hockey Stats and Game Results. Player Stats, stats from schools and conferences. The site also includes sections for coaches, awards, leaders, and the postseason.
NBA & ABA Basketball Statistics & History | Basketball-Reference.com
NBA Basketball Stats and Game Results. Player Stats, stats from schools and conferences. The site also includes sections for coaches, awards, leaders, and the postseason.
NCAA Sport Science Institute
The mission of the NCAA Sport Science Institute is to promote and develop safety, excellence and wellness in college student-athletes, and to foster lifelong physical and mental development.
Pro-Football-Reference.com - Pro Football Statistics and History
Professional Football Stats and Game Results. Player Stats, stats from schools and conferences. The site also includes sections for coaches, awards, leaders, and the postseason.
Analytic Methods in Sports: using mathematics and statistics to understand data from baseball, football, basketball, and other sports by
The Most Useful Techniques for Analyzing Sports Data One of the greatest changes in the sports world in the past 20 years has been the use of mathematical methods to analyze performances, recognize trends and patterns, and predict results. Analytic Methods in Sports: Using Mathematics and Statistics to Understand Data from Baseball, Football, Basketball, and Other Sports provides a concise yet thorough introduction to the analytic and statistical methods that are useful in studying sports. The book gives you all the tools necessary to answer key questions in sports analysis. It explains how to apply the methods to sports data and interpret the results, demonstrating that the analysis of sports data is often different from standard statistical analysis. Requiring familiarity with mathematics but no previous background in statistics, the book integrates a large number of motivating sports examples throughout and offers guidance on computation and suggestions for further reading in each chapter.
Call Number: Main 2nd Floor - GV568 .S48 2015
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Sports Analytics: a guide for coaches, managers, and other decision makers by
Benjamin C. Alamar founded the first journal dedicated to sports statistics, the Journal of Quantitative Analysis in Sports. He developed and teaches a class on sports analytics for managers at the University of San Francisco and has published numerous cutting-edge studies on strategy and player evaluation. Today, he cochairs the sports statistics section of the International Statistics Institute and consults with several professional teams and businesses in sports analytics. There isn't a better representative of this emerging field to show diverse organizations how to implement analytics into their decision-making strategies, especially as analytic tools grow increasingly complex. Alamar provides a clear, easily digestible survey of the practice and a detailed understanding of analytics' vast possibilities. He explains how to evaluate different programs and put them to use. Using concrete examples from professional sports teams and case studies demonstrating the use and value of analytics in the field, Alamar designs a roadmap for managers, general managers, and other professionals as they build their own programs and teach their approach to others.
Call Number: Main 2nd Floor - GV741 .A34 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-06
Big Data Baseball : math, miracles, and the end of a 20-year losing streak by
New York TimesBestseller After twenty consecutive losing seasons for the Pittsburgh Pirates, team morale was low, the club's payroll ranked near the bottom of the sport, game attendance was down, and the city was becoming increasingly disenchanted with its team. Pittsburghers joked their town was the city of champions...and the Pirates.Big Data Baseballis the story of how the 2013 Pirates, mired in the longest losing streak in North American pro sports history, adopted drastic big-data strategies to end the drought, make the playoffs, and turn around the franchise's fortunes. Award-winning journalist Travis Sawchik takes you behind the scenes to expertly weave together the stories of the key figures who changed the way the small-market Pirates played the game. For manager Clint Hurdle and the front office staff to save their jobs, they could not rely on a free agent spending spree, instead they had to improve the sum of their parts and find hidden value. They had to change. From Hurdle shedding his old-school ways to work closely with Neal Huntington, the forward-thinking data-driven GM and his team of talented analysts; to pitchers like A. J. Burnett and Gerrit Cole changing what and where they threw; to Russell Martin, the undervalued catcher whose expert use of the nearly-invisible skill of pitch framing helped the team's pitchers turn more balls into strikes; to Clint Barmes, a solid shortstop and one of the early adopters of the unconventional on-field shift which forced the entire infield to realign into positions they never stood in before. UnderHurdle's leadership, a culture of collaboration and creativity flourished as he successfully blended whiz kid analysts with graybeard coaches--a kind of symbiotic teamwork which was unique to the sport. Big Data Baseballis Moneyballon steroids. It is an entertaining and enlightening underdog story that uses the 2013 Pirates season as the perfect lens to examine the sport's burgeoning big-data movement. With the help of data-tracking systems like PitchF/X and TrackMan, the Pirates collected millions of data points on every pitch and ball in play to create a tome of color-coded reports that revealed groundbreaking insights for how to win more games without spending a dime. In the process, they discovered that most batters struggled to hit two-seam fastballs, that an aggressive defensive shift on the field could turn more batted balls into outs, and that a catcher's most valuable skill was hidden. All these data points which aren't immediately visible to players and spectators, are the bit of magic that led the Pirates to spin straw in to gold, finish the 2013 season in second place, end a twenty-year losing streak.
Call Number: Main 2nd Floor - GV875.P5 S28 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-19
Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 -