Skip to main content
UTIcon
Macdonald-Kelce Library

About the Macdonald-Kelce Library at The University of Tampa

List of Databases

You can find the list of databases available at the Macdonald-Kelce Library here.

For access issues, see this page

Subject Guides

The database list can be sorted by subject, but you might also find a Research Guides devoted to your area of interest.

If you would like to recommend a research guide, chat with us or email library@ut.edu

Logging in Through MyUTampa

In order to access the databases when you are outside the library, log into MyUTampa. If you are logged into MyUTampa, you do not have to log into Esearch again (they are the same). If you need assistance with your Spartans Domain log-in information, please contact the IT Help Desk at StudentHelp@ut.edu or at x6255.

How to Search the Databases

Ten or fifteen minutes preparation at the beginning of your search can save you hours of frustration later.

Help page

Whether you're searching ProQuest or IMDb take a few minutes to read the help page. Most databases have a help page (sometimes this page is marked simply with a question mark icon). You don't need to read the whole thing, but looking for the help button is an excellent habit to acquire. Eighty percent of the time, when I'm asked to help with a database I'm not familiar with, I find the answer by searching through the help page.

Search broadly

Then, do some practice searches. It is important at this stage that you do not get bogged down in finding high quality information for your research. Search, for example, on a hobby, or on a topic of personal interest. Then, click on lots of links to see what information is available.

Now that you've spent 15 minutes familiarizing yourself with the database you're ready to begin your search.

Use effective language

Remember as you search to look for important key words (authors names can sometime be valuable key words). Frequently when I begin a search I'm using the wrong language. Figuring out what language the experts use is essential for effective searching.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility